Tribune Broadcasting Stations Win 19 Regional Murrow Awards

Tribune Broadcasting's broadcast television stations have been awarded a total of 19 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards by the Radio Television Digital News Association.

Tribune Broadcasting’s stations were awarded Edward R. Murrow Awards in the categories of News Series, Hard News, Breaking News, News Documentary, Sports Reporting, Excellence in Social Media, News Documentary, Website, Excellence in Video, Writing and Sound.

WTVR in Richmond Virginia received six regional awards this year. The station also received six regional Murrow Awards in in 2016 and was honored with a national Edward R. Murrow Award in 2015. WITI in Milwaukee received three regional Murrow Awards this year, two in 2016 and was also was honored with a national Edward R. Murrow Award in 2015.

PIX11 in New York and KDVR in Denver were honored with two awards this year. Also recognized were KXTL in Sacramento, WGN in Chicago, WHO in Des Moines, WGHP in High Point, WHNT in Hunstville and WTIC in Hartford.

“We are especially gratified this year to have our stations and journalists honored for their work and innovation on all platforms, consistent with our commitment to great story telling that’s relevant to our local audiences and communities 24/7,” said Bart Feder, SVP/News, Tribune Broadcasting.

RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971; the awards recognize the best journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.