×

Warning

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 62

Quest Means Business Produces Goods and Makes Clouds


Quest Means Business on CNN is set for a busy April, at the Hannover Messe industrial trade fair, and also exploring 'cloud-seeding'.

Producing The Goods

In a special theme week of coverage CNN International will be reporting from the Hannover Messe, the world’s largest industrial fair.

Airing within 'Quest Means Business' and 'The Business View', 'Producing the Goods' explores technological developments in industry with particular interest in the automated processes that govern them. At the fair, some 6,000 international exhibitors showcase innovations and ground breaking solutions in robotics, automation and digitisation.

CNN brings viewers all the discussion points from the fair, interviewing influential CEOs including Avi Reichental of 3D Systems and Marijn Dekkers of Bayer Healthcare. They will discuss the seismic shift across industry and manufacturing that is driving profound economic change, from the 3-D printing of airplane wings to the design of energy efficient wind turbines. Everything is being transformed by our relationship with increasingly sophisticated machines.

Coverage begins on Monday 13th April and continues throughout the week.

  • The Business View airs at 1100 BST (1200 CET) and Quest Means Business airs at 2100 BST (2200 CET)

Make, Create, Innovate

CNN’s 'Make, Create, Innovate’ is a science and technology series that tells the stories behind the inventions and technological breakthroughs that are reshaping the world. The segment profiles pioneers in the fields of health, space exploration, telecommunications, energy, manufacturing and many more.

This episode takes a look at cloud-seeding, a technique that attempts to create clouds in order to control the weather.

With a history dating back to the 1950s, cloud-seeding is a kind of geo-engineering that uses technology to improve the environment. It’s an expensive and potentially toxic practice which uses planes to drop silver particles into the atmosphere. It is in this field where laser scientist Professor Jean-Pierre Wolf has focussed his expertise using lasers to create clouds.

  • ‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business, Thursday 23 April at 2000 BST (2100 CET)